Major Match Day

Major Match Day at WVU

Major Match Day at WVU was held last Wednesday in the Mountainlair Ballrooms. What this special day is, a collaborative effort from all participating WVU departments to provide information about the different programs and majors that WVU has to offer. So, freshman who are undecided about their major, people looking to pick up a minor, and even local high school students came to the event to search their options. Over 100 majors were represented and over 900 students were in attendance. The event was held by WVU’s Undergraduate Advising Services Center (UASC) and they provided everyone with a table and chairs.

It was really interesting to not only see how many different majors and minors were available at WVU but, also to see how the different departments represented themselves. I have never attended anything like this before, let alone spearhead it. But, I had fun. I had the chance to explain our program, our course list, and specifically what you can do with a degree in Human Nutrition and Foods. I brought my laptop with me to show students different pathways that this major can lead you in and explained to them the thousands of ways they can utilize it.

The event was 10am-4pm so, I arrived approximately at 9:00am to make sure I was set up properly and felt comfortable with my table’s arrangement. I recruited 3 other undergraduate students from the WVU Student Dietetic Association to also give students advice about the program since they were prime examples of HNF, currently. And honestly, it felt rewarding to explain Human Nutrition and Foods to students because, I think the program was never properly explained to me when I first entered the program as an undergraduate student. Overall, it was a really good experience and the coordinator said they will hopefully have another Major Match Day for the Fall semester.

From left to right: Brooke Irwin, Brooke Cenkus, and Mary Salvatore (All undergraduate students in HNF). And then me all the way on the right :)

From left to right: Brooke Irwin, Brooke Cenkus, and Mary Salvatore (All undergraduate students in HNF). And then me all the way on the right 🙂

A social media card I made for students to take from our table.

A social media card I made for students to take from our table.

The UASC gave us templates to keep track of students who inquired information about our program

The UASC gave us templates to keep track of students who inquired information about our program

An afternoon snack provided to all the departments for attending the event! Yumm!

An afternoon snack provided to all the departments for attending the event! Yumm!

